B&B/Chambres d'Hôtes Owners

Topic has 6 replies.

Print Search
Sort Posts:    
   26/03/2008, 12:34
Quillan is not online. Last active: 10/06/2008 13:19:17 Quillan



Top 25 Posts
Joined on 23/08/2004
Forum Moderator
Posts 3,576
Is this a clever scam?
Reply Quote

We had  very official letter arrive an hour ago through the post.

It is from the Tourist Directory and headed Guide D'Hotels and has a nice prepaid return envelope with it. It is written in French and asks you to tick all the box's for things you have in your CDH.

The two things you should be aware of if you read the incredibly small, like minuscule, print at the bottom of the page. You will be invoiced for 989 Euros once they have the paper back to be registered . You will have to buy a copy of the directory for a further 98 Euros. Oh yes and the prepaid envelope is post box Roissy (95929) yet the letter came from Switzerland.

Now I'm not saying this is a scam but the little bit at the bottom, so easily overlooked by the way, seems a bit sneaky as does trying to make it look like a government form and as for the prices well, if you get one you can decide for yourself. Personally for me it's a bin job.


http://www.chambresdhote.com

   Report 
   26/03/2008, 12:51
Cat is not online. Last active: 06/07/2008 16:03:59 Cat



Top 50 Posts
Joined on 21/01/2005
------- Forum Moderator ------- Lot
Posts 2,788
Re: Is this a clever scam?
Reply Quote
Hmm yes, Novachannel is the company involved.  Try googling the name, it's a real eye opener.

Cathy



Sun, sun, sun, here it comes...
   Report 
   26/03/2008, 13:23
Pierre ZFP is not online. Last active: 13/06/2008 14:23:03 Pierre ZFP



Top 75 Posts
Joined on 12/11/2004
PdC(62)/Luxembourg
Posts 1,649
Re: Is this a clever scam?
Reply Quote
Wow what a bunch of charmers - may they rot in Hell.
Fool me once, shame on you
Fool me twice, shame on me
Fool me 3 times and you can see a statistical tendency
   Report 
   26/03/2008, 13:26
David is not online. Last active: 12/06/2008 12:01:33 David

Top 500 Posts
Joined on 23/08/2004
North Deux-Sevres
Posts 352
Re: Is this a clever scam?
Reply Quote

In my opinion, yes, it is a scam.  Not illegal, but expensive.  As a self employed trader we got these things all the time in UK.  They set up a directory, charge you a fortune to be included in it, charge you to buy it, and this covers the cost of publishing.

However, very few people actually buy the publication, it (in our case) would not have helped with marketing, and the publishers walk away with a healthy management fee.

I suggest that you chuck it in the bin.

David


   Report 
   26/03/2008, 13:43
Gastines is not online. Last active: 24/01/2008 14:51:14 Gastines

Top 200 Posts
Joined on 23/08/2004
Les Gastines.St.Pere 5mins St.Malo
Posts 772
Re: Is this a clever scam?
Reply Quote
We get about 10 a year from various agencies in France/Switzerland and used to get plenty of  "Trade" offers in UK. More rubbish for the recylce bin. Most don't even publish.
   Report 
   27/03/2008, 18:51
Jura is not online. Last active: 09/06/2008 18:53:12 Jura

Top 500 Posts
Joined on 28/11/2005
Posts 714
Re: Is this a clever scam?
Reply Quote
Quillan we have received loads of those, about 5/6 a month; we just give them to the kids to rip open.Whenever we get mail like that we just throw it in the bin, whoever it is from. We particularly steer clear of 'tourist directories' of all kinds, French or otherwise, that ask for money. We market ourselves for next to nothing.
   Report 
   06/04/2008, 18:34
cassis is not online. Last active: 04/07/2008 16:32:57 cassis



Top 500 Posts
Joined on 28/12/2007
Manhattan and Glasgow
Posts 309
Re: Is this a clever scam?
Reply Quote
 Jura wrote:
Quillan we have received loads of those, about 5/6 a month; we just give them to the kids to rip open.Whenever we get mail like that we just throw it in the bin, whoever it is from. We particularly steer clear of 'tourist directories' of all kinds, French or otherwise, that ask for money. We market ourselves for next to nothing.


 Gastines wrote:
We get about 10 a year from various agencies in France/Switzerland and used to get plenty of  "Trade" offers in UK. More rubbish for the recylce bin. Most don't even publish.


Ditto.  Some Swiss directory contacts us by post regularly with a draft advert that shows our name address spelt incorrectly and asks us to return a form with any corrections, otherwise our listing will be published "as is", i.e. incorrectly.  Small print includes a billing instruction if you send a correction. 

It's not that clever but at least the address is not on the Ivory Coast.  Whistles [Www]

Zoggy played guitar, jammin' good with Weird and Golly.

Lyrics copyright Sausage Music 2008
   Report 
France Forum » Owning/Running ... » B&B/Chambres d'... » Re: Is this a clever scam?

Powered by Community Server, by Telligent Systems

Please note that any unsolicited advertising will be removed