|
|
B&B/Chambres d'Hôtes Owners
Topic has 6 replies.
 
 
|
|
Sort Posts:
|
|
|
|
26/03/2008, 12:34
|
Quillan

Joined on 23/08/2004
Forum Moderator
Posts 3,576
|
|
|
|
We had very official letter arrive an hour ago through the post.
It is from the Tourist Directory and headed Guide D'Hotels and has a nice prepaid return envelope with it. It is written in French and asks you to tick all the box's for things you have in your CDH.
The two things you should be aware of if you read the incredibly small, like minuscule, print at the bottom of the page. You will be invoiced for 989 Euros once they have the paper back to be registered . You will have to buy a copy of the directory for a further 98 Euros. Oh yes and the prepaid envelope is post box Roissy (95929) yet the letter came from Switzerland.
Now I'm not saying this is a scam but the little bit at the bottom, so easily overlooked by the way, seems a bit sneaky as does trying to make it look like a government form and as for the prices well, if you get one you can decide for yourself. Personally for me it's a bin job.
http://www.chambresdhote.com
|
|
|
|
|
Report
|
|
|
|
26/03/2008, 13:23
|
Pierre ZFP

Joined on 12/11/2004
PdC(62)/Luxembourg
Posts 1,649
|
Re: Is this a clever scam?
|
|
|
|
|
Wow what a bunch of charmers - may they rot in Hell.
Fool me once, shame on you Fool me twice, shame on me Fool me 3 times and you can see a statistical tendency
|
|
|
|
|
Report
|
|
|
|
26/03/2008, 13:26
|
David
Joined on 23/08/2004
North Deux-Sevres
Posts 352
|
Re: Is this a clever scam?
|
|
|
|
|
|
In my opinion, yes, it is a scam. Not illegal, but expensive. As a self employed trader we got these things all the time in UK. They set up a directory, charge you a fortune to be included in it, charge you to buy it, and this covers the cost of publishing.
However, very few people actually buy the publication, it (in our case) would not have helped with marketing, and the publishers walk away with a healthy management fee.
I suggest that you chuck it in the bin.
David
|
|
|
|
|
Report
|
|
|
|
26/03/2008, 13:43
|
Gastines
Joined on 23/08/2004
Les Gastines.St.Pere 5mins St.Malo
Posts 772
|
Re: Is this a clever scam?
|
|
|
|
|
We get about 10 a year from various agencies in France/Switzerland and used to get plenty of "Trade" offers in UK. More rubbish for the recylce bin. Most don't even publish.
|
|
|
|
|
Report
|
|
|
|
27/03/2008, 18:51
|
Jura
Joined on 28/11/2005
Posts 714
|
Re: Is this a clever scam?
|
|
|
|
|
Quillan we have received loads of those, about 5/6 a month; we just give them to the kids to rip open.Whenever we get mail like that we just throw it in the bin, whoever it is from. We particularly steer clear of 'tourist directories' of all kinds, French or otherwise, that ask for money. We market ourselves for next to nothing.
|
|
|
|
|
Report
|
|
|
|
06/04/2008, 18:34
|
cassis

Joined on 28/12/2007
Manhattan and Glasgow
Posts 309
|
Re: Is this a clever scam?
|
|
|
|
|
Jura wrote: | | Quillan we have received loads of those, about 5/6 a month; we just give them to the kids to rip open.Whenever we get mail like that we just throw it in the bin, whoever it is from. We particularly steer clear of 'tourist directories' of all kinds, French or otherwise, that ask for money. We market ourselves for next to nothing. |
|
Gastines wrote: | | We get about 10 a year from various agencies in
France/Switzerland and used to get plenty of "Trade" offers in UK.
More rubbish for the recylce bin. Most don't even publish. |
|
Ditto. Some Swiss directory contacts us by post regularly with a draft advert that shows our name address spelt incorrectly and asks us to return a form with any corrections, otherwise our listing will be published "as is", i.e. incorrectly. Small print includes a billing instruction if you send a correction.
It's not that clever but at least the address is not on the Ivory Coast. ![Whistles [Www]](/cs/images/emotions/whistling.gif)
Zoggy played guitar, jammin' good with Weird and Golly.
Lyrics copyright Sausage Music 2008
|
|
|
|
|
Report
|
|
|
|
|
France Forum » Owning/Running ... » B&B/Chambres d'... » Is this a clever scam?
|
|
|
|